Triptych "The Life of Christ" by Keith Haring

Bronze triptych with white gold patina by the American artist (1958-1990). This sculpture was created shortly before his death and was donated by his foundation to the City of Paris in 2003. One recognizes his naive style and the humour that animates the composition.

It is set out in the Saint Vincent de Paul Chapel.

Contemporary work by John Armleder

 These two panels are on display in the Chapel of Butchers, formerly the Chapel of Saint Andrew.

"The butchers' chapel has been occupied since the 17th century by the guild of butchers. Following a fire that destroyed the entire lower part of the place, the Association of the Remembrance of French Charcuterie, chaired by Mr Hilaire Bégat and accompanied by Father Gérard Bénéteau, wished to reactivate the history and memory of the chapel by calling upon a contemporary artist.

Inaugurated in 2000, the work of John Armleder consists of a set of removable elements that respect the principles of historic buildings. Two paintings, Pour Paintings, were created in the church and placed under the two murals attributed to the painter Theodore Pils. A glass table, placed under the central stained glass window, supports a glass urn. On the floor, a grid of polished brass nails placed in a regular pattern on the wooden floor extends the walkway, taking up the grid of marble slabs. A blue projection of a cross surmounts the table.

 

... During the day, natural light, filtered by the colours of the stained glass, circulates and reflects on the various elements present in the chapel.

During the annual mass of the butchers, a sheet with the names of the butchers who died during the year is placed in the glass urn. Participating in the ceremony, the work acquires all its symbolic dimension by keeping and making visible the memory of this corporation. Over the years, the leaves accumulate in the urn which bears witness to an open and constantly evolving work."

The departure of fruits and vegetables from the heart of Paris on February 28, 1969
by Raymond Mason

Evocation of the Anciennes Halles by Raymond Mason (born in 1922). The work is exhibited in the Chapel of the Emmaus Pilgrims.

I have tried with this sculpture to recreate, to the best of my ability, this dazzling vision. My work will obviously be a poor substitute for my emotion in front of the superb display. I hope at least that it will speak clearly enough to the spectator who reads its title: the departure of the fruits and vegetables from the heart of Paris to announce this other departure, no less definitive, of these men and women symbolized in my procession and of whom I spoke above. A moment of silence. It is the man of the Middle Ages who is leaving. The "little vegetable" of our species; he was coming out of the earth and taking on a shape of some kind. But he was a natural man and he was always growing. We will never see such a head again. We will never see his like again.

And then there is the church, one of the most remarkable in the world, the only witness to the centuries that have now passed. Witness? Actor herself, and no doubt the lead actor. From all its height, it drew on these thousand activities and goods, giving them a grandiose expanse, the essential and spiritual dimension - that felt, if only deafly, by each member of a confused and swarming congregation at its feet.

If you don't believe me, there's still a fruit and vegetable vendor leaning against the wall at St. Eustatius Point. Ask her if she would have liked to lean on something other than these big stones during all her years of cold nights. At Les Halles we were much closer to Notre Dame de Paris than to the Belly of Paris."

11 Shares
Tweet
Register
Share11

Oeuvres contemporaines

Triptyque "La vie du Christ"
de Keith Haring

Triptyque en bronze et patine d'or blanc de l'artiste américain (1958-1990). Cette sculpture a été réalisée peu avant sa mort et offerte, en 2003, par sa fondation à la Ville de Paris. On reconnait son style naïf et l'humour qui animent la composition.

Il est exposé dans la Chapelle Saint-Vincent de Paul.

 

Oeuvre contemporaine
de John Armleder

Ces deux panneaux sont exposés dans la Chapelle des charcutiers, ancienne Chapelle Saint-André.

"La chapelle des charcutiers est investie depuis le XVIIe siècle par la corporation des charcutiers. Suite à un incendie qui détruisit toute la partie basse du lieu, l’Association du Souvenir de la Charcuterie française, présidée par monsieur Hilaire Bégat et accompagnée du père Gérard Bénéteau, a désiré réactiver l’histoire et la mémoire de la chapelle en faisant appel à un artiste contemporain.

Inaugurée en 2000, l’œuvre de John Armleder est constituée d’un ensemble d’éléments amovibles qui respectent les principes des bâtiments historiques. Deux peintures, des Pour Paintings, ont été réalisées dans l’église et placées sous les deux peintures murales attribuées au peintre Théodore Pils. Une table de verre, placée sous le vitrail central, supporte une urne en verre. Au sol, une trame de clous polis en laiton disposés de manière régulière sur le plancher en bois prolonge le déambulatoire en reprenant le quadrillage des dalles de marbre. Une projection bleutée d’une croix surmonte la table.

... En journée, la lumière naturelle filtrée par les couleurs du vitrail, circule et se réfléchit sur les divers éléments présents dans la chapelle.

Lors de la messe annuelle des charcutiers, une feuille sur laquelle sont inscrits les noms des charcutiers morts dans l’année est déposée dans l’urne en verre. Participant à la cérémonie, l’oeuvre acquiert toute sa dimension symbolique en gardant et rendant visible la mémoire de cette corporation. Au fil des années, les feuilles s’accumulent dans l’urne ce qui témoigne d’une œuvre ouverte et en perpétuelle évolution."

 

Le départ des fruits et légumes du coeur de Paris le 28 février 1969
de Raymond Mason

Evocation des Anciennes Halles par Raymond Mason (né en 1922). L'oeuvre est exposée dans la Chapelle des Pélerins d'Emmaüs.

"J'ai essayé avec la présente sculpture de reconstituer, au mieux de mes moyens, cette vision éclatante. Mon oeuvre sera de toute évidence un pauvre substitut de mon émotion devant l'étalage superbe. J'espère au moins qu'elle parlera assez clairement au spectateur qui lit son titre : le départ des fruits et légumes du coeur de Paris pour annoncer cet autre départ, non moins définitif, de ces hommes et ces femmes symbolisées dans mon cortège et dont j'ai parlé plus haut. Un moment de silence. C'est l'homme du Moyen Âge qui s'en va. La "petite légume" de notre espèce ; il sortait de terre et prenait une forme n'importe comment. Mais c'était un homme naturel et il poussait toujours. Nous ne verrons plus pareille tête. Nous ne verrons plus jamais son pareil.

Et puis il y a l'église, une des plus remarquables qui soit, seul témoin des siècles maintenant révolus. Témoin ? Acteur elle-même, et sans doute l'acteur principal. De toute sa hauteur, elle tirait sur ces mille activités et marchandises, leur conférant une étendu grandiose, la dimension essentielle et spirituelle - cela ressenti, serait-ce sourdement, par chaque membre d'une congrégation confuse et grouillante à ses pieds.

Si vous ne me croyez pas, il reste encore une marchande de fruits et légumes adossée contre le mur de la pointe Saint-Eustache. demandez-lui si elle aurait souhaité s'appuyer sur autre chose que ces grosses pierres pendant toutes ses années de nuits froides. Aux Halles nous étions beaucoup plus près de Notre-Dame de Paris que du Ventre de Paris."

 

.
Haut de page

Adresse
Paroisse Saint-Eustache
2 impasse Saint-Eustache
75001 Paris - 01 42 36 31 05

Horaires d'ouverture
9h30-19h en semaine
9h-19h le week-end