Discovery of the church

The architecture of Saint-Eustache has been the object of the most contradictory judgements: some reveal a passionate admiration, others the most extreme severity. The verdict of Viollet-de-Duc is without appeal; the famous architect considers Saint-Eustache to be "a confused pile of debris borrowed from all sides, unconnected and disharmonious, a kind of Gothic skeleton covered with Roman rags sewn together like pieces of harlequin clothing". By its plan and structure, Saint-Eustache is the daughter of Notre-Dame de Paris: nave flanked by double aisles and chapels, wide transept not protruding outside, choir surrounded by a double ambulatory and a row of chapels. But the interior decoration is typical of the Renaissance: classical and modern at the same time, as Saint-Eustache appears to us, in its architecture, in its decoration, in its parish life.

The dimensions of the church are imposing Inside the building the length is 100 meters, the width 43 meters, the height 33 meters. The grandiose proportions, the height of the vaults, the perfect harmony of vertical lines and elegant curves, the depth of the perspectives are striking from the moment you enter.

In the nave, at the height of the fourth bay, we find the workbench, executed around 1720 by Pierre Lepautreon Cartaud's drawings. This large piece of woodwork consists of a Greek portico supported by four fluted columns, with the statue of Saint Agnes accompanied by three angels. Opposite is the chair designed by Victor Baltard.

At the crossing of the transept, one can admire the choir, with its stalls that were installed after the Revolution, the high altar designed by Victor Baltardthe big canopies of Soulignac.

Around the church,
starting from the Chapel of the Virgin Mary

The central chapelThe "Blessed Sacrament", which stands out strongly at the church head, is much more developed than the others. It once had two storeys of windows: in the eighteenth century, the lower windows were condemned to the construction of the Moreau building to the south. Primitively, the chapel of the Holy Virgin was decorated with a rich ornamentation of marble, woodwork and paintings, which disappeared during the Revolution. Restored in 1802, it is enriched with a very beautiful marble statue of the Virgin, sculpted by Pigalle for the Chapel of the Invalides.

On 28 December 1804, the Chapel of the Virgin was solemnly inaugurated by Pope Pius VII, who had come to Paris for the coronation of Napoleon. The attitude of the Virgin is admirable, slightly inclined on the right side, in a graceful movement, she reaches out her hands to the Child, sitting on the folds of her cloak and raising her right hand in a gesture of blessing. It is to the painter Thomas Couture, Manet's master, who is entrusted with the execution of the frescoes. of the chapel: they represent the power of intercession of the Virgin.

In the chapel on the right, there is a staircase with a Louis XVI balustrade leading to a door with a pediment, through which one can access the present Saint Agnes Chapel which is used for weekly masses in winter, and in the catechism hall.

After the entrance door called "de la Pointe", we find the butchers' chapel among the traditions of Saint-Eustache, certain corporations of Les Halles had their religious centre. A company of butchers "Le Souvenir" has returned to the past by adopting the Saint-André chapel that it has embellished with a stained-glass window, then a contemporary work of art by John Armleder. A solemn Mass is celebrated every year in the name of the Confédération nationale des Charcutiers Traiteurs de France (National Confederation of French Butchers and Caterers).

To the left of the Chapel of the Virgin Marywe find a masterpiece: the Colbert's Mausoleum, by Coysevox. The minister is represented here dressed in the costume of the Order of the Holy Spirit, with his sword on his left side, in the attitude of prayer: the joined hands, long and slender, are admirable, the face is of serene gravity. On each side of the monument, a statue of a seated woman: on the left, Fidelity; on the right, Abundance.

It is in the following chapel that we can admire the most beautiful painting of Saint-Eustache : "The Disciples of Emmaus" by Rubens or his school. Everything in this painting bears witness to a rare mastery: the physiognomy of Christ, the gripping expression of the disciples, the head of the old maid on the right, the shortening of the hands, the astonishing still life of the table.

The Sainte-Madeleine Chapel a "Ecstasy of the Magdalene" by Rutilio Manetti... (1571 – 1636). The subject of this painting is not the death of the saint, but her mystical relationship with God. St. Magdalene is lying half stretched out, supported by an angel, while another angel leans over her and brings her a message from on high.

In 1803 was given to the chapel following the name of Saint-Vincent de Paul who resided, as an inscription reminds us, in the territory of the parish from 1613 to 1623, when he was tutor to the de Gondi family. The City of Paris has deposited here a contemporary work of art by Keith Haring, "The Life of Christ.". You will find explanations about the triptych on the spot.

Further on, we find a table of Santi di Tito (Borgo San Sepolcro 1536-1603), "The Angel leading Tobias". The next chapel was dedicated in 1805 to Saint Louis, with an eighteenth-century painting above the altar, with Saint Louis in adoration before the crown of thorns.

Above the door leading to the Hall of Columns (not open to the public) was a tribune for the Duchess of Orleans, mother of Louis-Philippe. Near the pillar of the entrance door, a monumental plaster stoup by Eugène Bion (1834): Pope Alexander II instituted the use of holy water.

Further on, the baptismal font chapelwith the arms of Jean de Nicolay, Lord of Goussainville, contains the a copy of a painting by Rubens: "The Adoration of the Magi.".

Above the door, at the bottom of the north side, under a painting by Ménageot (1744-1816): "The Adoration of the Shepherds", one will not fail to admire the large painting of Simon Vouet: "The Martyrdom of Saint Eustace“. This work had been commissioned from the artist by Richelieu, for the high altar of Saint-Eustache; it was completed, in its upper part, by the "Apotheosis of the Holy Martyr". The whole was removed from the church, the two parts separated. The upper part was sent to the Museum of Nantes, where it still stands, the other part entered the famous collection of Cardinal Fesch, then belonged to a Mr Moret who, in 1855, gave it to the City of Paris to give it to the church.

0 Shares
Tweet
Register
Share

Patrimoine artistique

Découverte de l'église

L'architecture de Saint-Eustache a été l'objet des jugements les plus contradictoires : les uns révèlent une admiration passionnée, les autres la plus extrême sévérité. Le verdict de Viollet-de-Duc est sans appel ; le célèbre architecte considère Saint-Eustache comme "un amas confus de débris empruntés de tous les côtés, sans liaison et sans harmonie, sorte de squelette gothique revêtu de haillons romains cousus ensemble comme les pièces d'un habit d'arlequin". Par son plan et sa structure, Saint-Eustache est la fille de Notre-Dame de Paris : nef flanquée de bas-côtés doubles et de chapelles, large transept non saillant à l'extérieur, choeur entouré par un double déambulatoire et une rangée de chapelles. Mais la décoration intérieure est typique de la Renaissance : classique et moderne à la fois, tel nous apparaît Saint-Eustache, dans son architecture, dans sa décoration, dans sa vie de paroisse.

Les dimensions de l'église sont imposantes : à l'intérieur la longueur est de 100 mètres, la largeur de 43 mètres, la hauteur de 33 mètres. On est saisi, dès l'entrée, par l'ampleur grandiose des proportions, la hauteur des voutes, l'accord parfait des lignes verticales et des courbes élégantes, la profondeur des perspectives.

Dans la nef, à la hauteur de la quatrième travée, nous trouvons le banc d'oeuvre, exécuté vers 1720 par Pierre Lepautre, sur les dessins de Cartaud. Ce grand morceau de menuiserie se compose d'un portique grec soutenu par quatre colonnes cannelées, avec la statue de sainte Agnès, accompagnée de trois anges. En face, se trouve la chaire dessinée par Victor Baltard.

A la croisée du transept, on peut admirer le choeur, avec ses stalles qui ont été installées après la Révolution, le maître-autel dessiné par Victor Baltard, les grandes verrières de Soulignac.

Ville de Paris / COARC / Jean-Marc Moser

Le tour de l'église, en partant de la chapelle de la Vierge

Ville de Paris / COARC / Jean-Marc Moser et Emmanuel Michot

La chapelle centrale, fortement saillante sur le chevet de l'église, est beaucoup plus développée que les autres. Elle comportait autrefois deux étages de fenêtres : au dix-huitième siècle, les fenêtres inférieures sont condamnées à la construction du bâtiment de Moreau, au sud. Primitivement, la chapelle de la Sainte Vierge était décorée d'une riche ornementation de marbres, de boiseries et de tableaux, qui disparut sour la Révolution. Restaurée dès 1802, elle est enrichie d'une très belle statue en marbre de la Vierge, scultpée par Pigalle pour la chapelle des Invalides. Le 28 décembre 1804, la chapelle de la Vierge est inaugurée solennellement par le pape Pie VII, venu à Paris pour le sacre de Napoléon. L'attitude de la Vierge est admirable, légèrement inclinée sur le côté droit, dans un mouvement gracieux, elle tend les mains à l'Enfant, assis sur les plis de son manteau et levant la main droite dans un geste de bénédiction. C'est au peintre Thomas Couture, le maître de Manet, qu'est confiée l'exécution des fresques de la chapelle : elles représentent la puissance d'intercession de la Vierge.

Dans la chapelle située à droite, on trouve un escalier avec balustrade Louis XVI conduisant à une porte sommée d'un fronton, par où on accède à l'actuelle chapelle sainte Agnès qui sert pour les messes de semaines en hiver, et à la salle des catéchismes.

Après la porte d'entrée dite de la Pointe, on trouve la chapelle des Charcutiers ; parmi les traditions de Saint-Eustache, certaines corporations des Halles ont eu leur centre religieux. Une société de charcutiers "Le Souvenir" a renoué avec le passé en adoptant la chapelle Saint-André qu'elle a embellie d'un vitrail, puis d'une oeuvre d'art contemporain de John Armleder. Une messe solennelle est célébrée chaque année, au nom de la Confédération nationale des Charcutiers Traiteurs de France.



Ville de Paris / COARC /
Jean-Marc Moser

A gauche de la chapelle de la Vierge, on trouve un chef d'oeuvre : le mausolée de Colbert, par Coysevox. Le ministre est représenté ici revêtu du costume de l'Ordre du Saint-Esprit, l'épée au côté gauche, dans l'attitude de la prière : les mains jointes, longues et fines, sont admirables, le visage est d'une gravité sereine. De chaque côté du monument, une statue de femme assise : à gauche, la Fidélité ; à droite, l'Abondance.

C'est dans la chapelle suivante que nous pouvons admirer le plus beau tableau de Saint-Eustache : "Les Disciples d'Emmaüs" par Rubens ou son école. Tout, dans cette toile, témoigne d'une rare maîtrise : la physionomie du Christ, l'expression de saisissement des disciples, la tête de la vielle servante à droite, le raccourci des mains, l'étonnante nature morte de la table.

Ville de Paris / COARC / Jean-Marc Moser

On trouve dans la chapelle Sainte-Madeleine une "Extase de la Madeleine" de Rutilio Manetti (1571 - 1636). Le sujet de ce tableau n'est pas la mort de la sainte, mais sa relation mystique avec Dieu. Sainte Madeleine est à demi étendue, soutenue par un ange, tandis qu'un autre ange se penche sur elle et lui apporte un message d'en Haut.

En 1803 fût donné à la chapelle suivante le nom de Saint-Vincent de Paul qui résida, ainsi que le rappelle une inscription, sur le territoire de la paroisse de 1613 à 1623, alors qu'il était précepteur de la famille de Gondi. La Ville de Paris a déposé ici une oeuvre d'art contemporain de Keith Haring, "La vie du Christ". Vous trouverez sur place des explications sur le triptyque.



Ville de Paris / COARC /
JM Moser

Plus loin, nous trouvons un tableau de Santi di Tito (Borgo San Sepolcro 1536-1603), "L'Ange conduisant Tobie". La chapelle suivante fut dédiée en 1805 à saint Louis, avec au-dessus de l'autel une toile du dix-huitième siècle, saint Louis en adoration devant la couronne d'épines.

Au dessus de la porte qui mène à la salle des colonnes (ne se visite pas) fut établie une tribune pour la duchesse d'Orléans, mère de Louis-Philippe. Près du pilier de la porte d'entrée, un bénitier monumental en plâtre, par Eugène Bion (1834) : le pape Alexandre II instituant l'usage de l'eau bénite.

Plus loin, la chapelle des Fonts baptismaux, aux armes de Jean de Nicolay, seigneur de Goussainville, renferme la copie d'un tableau de Rubens : "L'Adoration des Mages".



Ville de Paris / COARC / Jean-Marc Moser


Ville de Paris / COARC /
Jean-Marc Moser

Au dessus de la porte, au bas du collatéral nord, sous une toile de Ménageot (1744-1816) : "l'Adoration des Bergers", on ne manquera pas d'admirer le grand tableau de Simon Vouet : "le Martyre de saint Eustache". Cette oeuvre avait été commandée à l'artiste par Richelieu, pour le maître-autel de Saint-Eustache ; elle était complétée, à sa partie haute, par "l'Apothéose du saint martyr". L'ensemble fut enlevé de l'église, les deux parties séparées. La partie haute est envoyée au Musée de Nantes, où elle se trouve encore, l'autre partie entra dans la fameuse collection du cardinal Fesch, appartint ensuite à un monsieur Moret qui, en 1855, la céda à la Ville de Paris pour la remettre à l'église.

 

 

.
Haut de page

Adresse
Paroisse Saint-Eustache
2 impasse Saint-Eustache
75001 Paris - 01 42 36 31 05

Horaires d'ouverture
9h30-19h en semaine
9h-19h le week-end